Tags

, , , ,

Every now and then you meet someone that completely humbles you.

On a warm summer evening a few weeks ago, I met a little warrior for one of my Fairy sessions at Glen Falls Park in Williamsville NY.

Her Mom had briefly mentioned that her little girl had always been too sick to have professional portraits taken and that she so much wanted a Fairy session for her little girl.

The minute Lyla stepped out of the car I knew that little one was special. She has a profound maturity and self awareness that is unusual for someone only three years old. It’s the kind of maturity that comes from going through life altering moments. The zest for life this little one has, her curiosity and openness took me by surprise.

After she had finished dressing up in her fairy outfit, she looked at me and grabbed my hand and turned to walk with me down the path into the woods.

Buffalo NY Fairy Pictures|Pink Girl Fairy|Gypsy's Corner PhotographyIt may not seem like a big deal to anyone but even though at that time I knew nothing about her story, that little girl touched my heart that very moment so much that I could feel tears welling up in my eyes.

Buffalo Children fairytale photography|Woodland Fairy and bunny|Gypsy's Corner Photography

Lyla was born September 2013.  She had been diagnosed in utero with Tetralogy of Fallot (FOT) with pulmonary atresia.  She was placed on a breathing tube the night she was born and had her first open heart surgery at only 8 days old. She then spend 56 days in the NICU.

Lyla struggled to thrive and had feeding difficulties and ended up needing a feeding tube before she was allowed to go home.

Williamsville NY Fairy Photography|Butterfly Fairy|Gypsy's Corner Photography

When she was a year and a half her heart functions decreased again and Lyla had her second open heart surgery.

Buffalo Fairy and Children Photography| Thinking fairy|Gypsy's Corner Photography

Since the last surgery Lyla has made many gains and even thought she is now stable, this little girl has to continue to fight and she will need two more open heart surgeries to replace a valved conduit that is currently in place of her pulmonary artery.

Buffalo NY Children Photography|Fairy and her guardian Bear|Gypsy's Corner Photography

Upon meeting Lyla you would never know all the fighting she has done in those three years.

Buffalo Fairy Photographer| Girl Pink Fairy and dove|Gypsy's Corner Photography

This little girl has humbled me more then I can ever describe. She is a little fierce fairy and a true warrior.

Buffalo NY Fairytale Portraiture|Unicorn and Fairy|Gypsy's Corner Photography

Are you currently expecting and looking for a Buffalo NY Newborn Photographer? I offer in studio Newborn sessions and in studio or outdoor Maternity, Children and Family sessions. I also specialize in Fairytale portraiture for children.

If you would like additional information on my sessions and rates please visit my website at www.gypsyscornerphotography.com or if you are ready to schedule your session please send me an email: gypsyscornerphotography@gmail.com.

I look forward to hearing from you and would love to work with you!

If you would like to keep up with my recent work, you can also follow me on Facebook or Instagram.

Tam Nelson of Gypsy’s Corner Photography is a, Newborn, Baby, Children & Family Photographer, specializing in Fairytale portraiture serving the Buffalo NY, Williamsville NY, Amherst NY, Lancaster NY, Clarence NY and surrounding Western New York area.